Home Forums Share an Effective Practice Evaluating: Tips and Guidance

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Heidi Schroeder 6 months ago.

• Author

Shelly Wyatt
    Participant
    Topics: 6
    Replies: 6

Many faculty and instructional designers find research intimidating.  What are some of the biggest challenges you have experience conducting research on your campus and how did you overcome them?

Dagoberto Diaz
    Participant
    Topics: 0
    Replies: 2

Hi Shelly,

I am an Instructional Designer at LSU soon to defend my doctoral dissertation and can relate to the question you present. From my experience, I have observed that there are some challenges related to having the background on research methods and other challenges that are common to research studies such as access to data.
    I often find in conversations with colleagues that many of them are very interested about different subjects in their fields. However, they express lack of interest or as you mentioned, they feel intimidated about conducting research. Research can be intimidating and overwhelming for colleagues that lack a background or knowledge on data collection/research methods.
    When the research framework is lacking, it is difficult to articulate research goals and questions. We know that action research can be a method useful especially for practitioners and also there are other methodologies qualitative and quantitative that may suit better personal interests and needs.