Looking to “Up” my ADA Game (Issue 7)

Author and Editor: Dr. Shelly Wyatt

Dear ADDIE:

I am an instructional designer who feels very comfortable with just about all of the various parts of my job: working with faculty to develop high-quality online courses, staying on top of new developments in the field of online instruction, conducting research, and contributing to the discipline of instructional design by presenting at conferences.  I love what I do.  Still, there is one important area where, I admit, I feel less than confident: implementation of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).  I am familiar with the basics of the ADA and support the expansion of educational opportunities to all students, including those with disabilities.  I help faculty with all of the routine stuff (e.g., image alt tags, scripting/captioning videos, etc.).  But I have limited personal experience working with people with disabilities and am concerned that I lack insight into what it’s like to be a student with a disability.  I want to do more than just the minimum, do more than tick the box that says courses are ADA compliant.   Do you have any suggestions that could help me?

Signed,

Dedicated to ADA

Dear Dedicated:
Thanks for submitting such a timely question as we are on the cusp of another academic year!  For many instructional designers and faculty developers, making sure that online courses are ADA compliant is a relatively recent addition to the course development toolbox. Regarding technology and higher education, the ADA requires the following:

• Courses or class materials posted online must be in an accessible format.
  • Videos (online and in-class) should have closed captioning to ensure that people with hearing loss can effectively understand the information.
  • Materials such as class handouts or readings must be accessible by screen readers commonly used by people with vision loss.