Experience (with Great Engagement) Really Can Be the Best Teacher (Issue 3)

Author and Editor: Dr. Kelvin Thompson

Dear ADDIE:

My faculty clients are struggling with meaningfully engaging their students online. Some question the value of online discussions entirely while others recognize the value of student engagement but seem ill-equipped to achieve it. As an example, please consider the following excerpt from a message I received this week from one of my faculty:

As you know, I have been teaching Economics here for a few years now both on-ground and online. In my face-to-face courses, I can usually generate a good amount of discussion around the subject and see how engaged they are and feed off their responses. However, when I teach this same course online, the discussions are anything but stimulating or engaging; even though i’m using the same discussion questions. The students limit themselves to a quick sentence or two and don’t seem interested in replying to each other. What can I do to motivate my students and get them excited about Economics?

What can you offer to help me help this faculty colleague and the many more like her?

Signed,

Engaged in Helping Faculty Engage More

Dear Engaged: